Legacy of Love . . .

Only the heart knows how to find what is precious. ~ Dostoyevsky

Recently, I was organizing a box of very old family photographs and found the image above. The sweet little girl is my dear grandmother-in-law and my Mr. Z’s grandmother. As I sat looking at the image, I realized I have been very lucky to have had two biological grandmothers in my life, and one beloved grandmother-in-law. In my eyes these three remarkable grandmothers were all lifetime achievers in the Best Grandmother’s Club!

My kind-hearted grandmother-in-law lived through a world of major changes during her 90 years of living on this earth. As a young woman, she lost her husband in 1939 from post-surgical complications that left her a single mother with two pre-teen daughters. Being a strong, independent woman, she created a lifetime of memories as a splendid scrapbook of life’s treasured moments, and of course with a few struggles filed too.

As I shared the images with Mr. Z, a few of his favorite memories came to mind . . . her gentle spirit and grandmotherly ways, boxes of Nabisco Ginger Snap cookies that she shared freely with her seven grandsons, her love of flowers and the blooming lilacs that adorned her back yard with color and scented the air, enjoying a scrumptious lunch on her wooden patio swing while being serenaded by songbirds, the red roses she so lovingly persevered sent from her husband on the same day he suddenly passed away, and her love of The Beatle’s Sargent Pepper album, especially the song – When I’m Sixty Four!   

When she became my precious grandmother-in-law, she had reached a point in her life where she was content to just be. She had nothing to prove, because she had lived well and had gained a wealth of hard-earned wisdom which she often shared with us – a young married couple. She wanted us to truly savor and love life, which we continue to work on each day. Thank you, grandmother for the splendid advice!

On this upcoming Mother’s Day, along with honoring our precious mothers, we will also be celebrating and cherishing our grandmother’s love, strengths, their courage, and determination. And to my readers, I am grateful to all the mothers, grandmothers and motherly figures because you continue to inspire your families every day while making your homes the happiest place to be. Happy Mother’s Day with much love!

Now, with my box of photographs neatly organized this song will be playing ever so softly in our minds – take it away Ringo Starr . . .

Photograph
Every time I see your face
It reminds me of the places we used to go
All I've got is a photograph
And I realize you're not coming back anymore
I thought I'd make it
The day you went away
But I can't make it
'Til you come home again to stay
I can't get used to living here
While my heart is broke, my tears, I cry for you
I want you here to have and hold
As the years go by, and we grow old and gray
Now you're expecting me
To live without you
But that's not something
That I'm looking forward to
I can't get used to living here
While my heart is broke, my tears, I cry for you
I want you here to have and hold
As the years go by, and we grow old and gray
Every time I see your face
It reminds me of the places we used to go

All I've got is a photograph
And I realize you're not coming back anymore
Every time I see your face
It reminds me of the places we used to go
But all I've got is a photograph
And I realize you're not coming back anymore
Every time I see your face
It reminds me of the places we used to go
Songwriters: Richard Starkey, George Harrison.



43 thoughts on “Legacy of Love . . .

  1. What a lovely post, Mary. How fortunate to have those wonderful photos. She sounds like a perfect grandmother-in-law. Life was not easy for her, but she persevered and left a beautiful legacy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Evermore thanks! I’m very pleased to have the vintage photographs organized and many stories unfolded while doing so! Including a discussion about the faith-based private school uniforms my mother-in-law and aunt-in-law were wearing in the photograph.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Dorothy! Your thoughtful comments reminded me of this Proust quote, “Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.” Yup, that was my grandmother-in-law! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful post and tribute to your grandmother-in-law. And you chose the perfect song. Not all are as fortunate as we are to have had the influence of such strong and loving women in our lives. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ingrid, for stopping by and your thoughtful comments! The lyrics of that song have always given me pause. Indeed, we are lucky to have had strong women who raised us, and our strengths emerged from theirs creating us – charming and or so wonderful!!!😊😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely tribute to a very special lady. It’s so good to have older and wisdom bearing people to share their insight with us. Thanks, too, for reminding me of that song. Brings back memories from a long time ago. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about your family and grandmother-in-law, Mary. Her photos brought her to life. It’s wonderful to read about people who found ways to work through life’s greatest challenges successfully. Doesn’t she give us all hope? Beautiful post. Happy Mother’s Day, Mary.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such wonderful memories and photos and a loving tribute…I only knew one of my grandmothers and she was very old and I was very young when she passed. I love being a grandmother and hope I will leave my grandchildren special memories like you have! Sorry I’m so late Mary, somehow I missed this post!

    Jenna

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment